In 1996, Bill Monroe – nearing the end of his life – confided to musical protégé Ricky Skaggs that he feared that bluegrass music, the genre of music he helped create in the late 1930s, would enter into the history bins with his passing. Skaggs made a promise to The Father of Bluegrass that he would do his part to keep the flame alive. After that, Skaggs switched lanes to perform primarily bluegrass and established Skaggs Family Records, which has become one of the top bluegrass labels in music. Today, that full-circle move back to the format from which he began his trailblazing career is celebrated with the announcement that he will be one of four new inductees into the IBMA Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame.

The news of Skaggs’ forthcoming induction – alongside of longtime bluegrass favorite Paul Williams and Tom T. and Dixie Hall – were among the headlines that came from this morning’s reveal of the nominations of the 2018 International Bluegrass Music Awards, which were announced at a press conference in Nashville.

Leading the field are Becky Buller and Molly Tuttle, with each receiving six nominations. Close behind with five nominations each are Special Consensus, and The Del McCoury Band/The Travelin’ McCourys, with strong showings by Rhonda Vincent, The Earls of Leicester, Balsam Range, and Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver. Results of the balloting will be revealed at the International Bluegrass Music Awards on Thursday, Sept. 27, at the Duke Energy Performing Arts Center in Raleigh, North Carolina, and will be broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction).

Source : Billboard